Heart Rate Question

I was talking to a friend after Port Stephens Tri. He experienced a heart rate issue after the race. I was wondering if anyone has experienced the below. 

He raced HR and sat on approx 150bpm for the entire race. No spikes or anything. He finished the race, sore but ok. Rested and watched the other races for about an hour. From there he went back to his car. he left his monitor on.

After he got to his car, he noticed his HR started to spike up, between 170 to 180  this lasted for about 20 minutes staying high. Not dizzy, pain or feeling sick but could feel a bit of flutter. He sat all the time. He started to think he might drive to the hospital. Then all of a sudden, it dropped down  to 80s and 70s. 

I did a bit of reading last night and found a medical article re the body trying to get rid of lactic and beating high. This is after over exercising has stopped. 

Has anyone heard or experienced this ?

Ta

FM 

I'm no expert but that sounds suspiciously like Afib (Atrial Fibrillation)

Definitely would go have a cardiac assessment.

• Like 1

AF is definitely a possibility, but I'd want to eliminate the likelihood that the HRM wasn't just throwing a tanty as well. During a run mine has certainly spent 15 minutes twenty beats above my perceived effort, only to miraculously drop back to where it should be.

Has he ever experienced anything like that before?

1 hour ago, Flanman said:

could feel a bit of flutter. 

I did a bit of reading last night and found a medical article re the body trying to get rid of lactic and beating high. This is after over exercising has stopped. 

I don't really understand how that would work with regards to physiology. Mildly elevated HR makes send but not 170-180. Not much lactate hanging around 1 hour after an endurance race.

The sensation of flutter is important, if that wasn't there it would be less concerning

40 minutes ago, trickle said: