Gadgets...... indoor bikes etc

So I have been a religious indoor trainer sorta bloke since the mid 80s long long before it was 'a thing'..... we were first introduced to the joys of suffering indoors by Ron Bonham when he was the coach of the Barracuda tri team. I always had that masochistic streak and enjoyed making myself vomit and back in the day, found it a very good way to get a good session in before a run, or combined with a run to the pool and linking it all together etc.

We did many sessions in the Barracuda offices in Darlinghurst and the absolute king of those sessions was Rick Pallister. No power meters in ancient history just efforts at x heart rate etc. Ouch. I think Ric was the only one of us that ever got through one of Rons' sessions. 

Fast forward thirty plus years and probably the only thing I still do that resembles proper training is indoor stuff. Have had various incarnations of turbos, broken things and was one of the very first to purchase an original wattbike pro when they first came out, would combine those sessions with a session on the rollers at high rpm after - rollers and turbo/ergo being very different things, but that helped me to go from a 80-90 rpm triathlete/time trialist to a reasonable masters track rider at rpms north of 110 for pursuits and even up to 130 odd in mass start races. 

Have in the last 12 months gone to a smart trainer, tried zwift but hate the video game experience much prefer trainer road - its just numbers, and some truly difficult sessions that are structured and enjoyable, with a pitifully low FTP given recent health problems (but I think most people lie about FTP) I at least have seen finally some encouraging numbers.