how much difference does a bike make (Newbie)

Im only new to tri and I know the biggest difference is made by the person powering the bike

I am training for my first 70.3 at the end of the year, currently when riding i average 30km/h on the flat on a basic road bike (with aero clipons)

If I upgraded to a basic tri bike (seen a well priced secondhand Look 496 with FSA components) how much would this help, are we talking 5% 10% 20% increase in speed/ efficiency or would it not really make much of a difference until I improve my fitness and power output

Less than 10%. Maybe 5%,

It is;perfectly normal to use a road bike with clip ons. If I'm you, I would train and race on that bike this year. And look to set some targets for 2016, If you did go with the Look, I would think aero wheels if included would make some difference. If not included that would be another thing to buy.

There will always be used bikes to buy. After this year your needs might change....I would sit tight.

The advantage of tri bikes is that you can hold a more aero position but also that you can run better off them as long as you're fitted well.

Of course the other thing might be that it becomes your pride and joy and you start riding more cause you want to spend as much time as possible on it.

The fact that you're asking what the advantages are means you know deep down it's time for a new bike.

Excellent second hand TT bikes going cheap. I bought my first TT bike five years ago for $800, with a pair of HED trispokes I'm still using. Even though speed advantage might only be +2-3km/h ave (5-10%) reckon it's worth it. Buy cheap, sell cheap then get to the point buy more expensive when have tried a few things. Unless you've got enough money can buy expensive at outset :)

Aero helmet and bike fit > frame, apparently. Save for longer, buy something new that sings to you and is wildly expensive. Not because it will make you faster, but becasue it will make you smile!

Snap.