Alternative drafting policies in triathlon

• Replies 396
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

Popular Posts

M&M has the idea   If you speak to most states, they will tell the same story. I have 8 or 9 years experience as a TO / RR and have little intention of doing much else in this line in the near

When TA puts out a survey about drafting I will choose the "increase penalty time" option. Until then I'm not putting my hand up for any other volunteer duties. You are on the board, my take of the pu

C'mon Jimmy, I'm sure you've seen the shambles of the river loop in Brisbane when there's 20 people trying to ride together and all over the place. Imagine if that's a group of 100+ sweeping everythi

I know you are only looking for serious responses and this is serious. The old 7 metre rule was better. It made it easier to see who was blatantly cheating and was a reasonable enough distance to be able to estimate it in a racing situation.

12 meters is a guess at best.

Anyhow choose a distance and then have draft busters as people on bikes in a race, get the local cycling clubs to volunteer. This will make it easier to police and harder for cheats to avoid.

Fair point BB

The other thing is how do we judge distance legally? If a cop looked at you speeding with the naked eye and said "I reckon u were going 117kph" and gave u a ticket it would be laughed out of court.

Is there technology than can foolproof distance judgment and not make it overly expensive for governing bodies and RDs?

Maybe with new technology which could include hand held lasers or smart ankle chips, are we likely to make the TO's job easier. In spite of the difficulties in policing drafting, I believe it is worth persevering with non drafting for the vast majority.