Sign in to follow this  
Clayte

SRAM eTap AXS vs Shimano Di2

I am sure the SRAM vs Shimano Case has been debated many times and might also have your typical diehard supporters in each camp, but I am a novice Triathlete When it comes to these types of group sets keen to understand any serious negatives about why I should not but SRAM over Shimano.

I know the Shimano mkt share is greater etc etc and my LBS sells both systems but was raving about the SRAM AXS. 

I am in process if buying/building a new Tri Bike and the LBS was keen for me to use SRAM AXS, after my research it seems to be the go, but I have never used SRAM, concerned about number of suppliers, knowledgeable mechanics of SRAM etc. 

Any thoughts from those that are not getting paid to sell SRAM would be good, experiences of SRAM vs Shimano etc. might help me make a decision in favour of one vs the other.... Thanks people.

Edited by Clayte

Hi, my setup is on road bikes

I put SRAM Force AXS on my new bike in December 2019, replaced a bike with Ultegra Di2.

Other than the how you shift, i couldn't tell you any difference in the shifting. on a TT bike this would potentially be the same between systems.

Both when setup just work. Usage and wear i have had no problems that would say one better than other.

I went with SRAM because i wanted 12 speed and powermeter. 

My son who is a bike mechanic loves SRAM because of the simplistically on setting up, no cables in the frame.

Key day to day difference is you have to regularly charge the SRAM batteries; i do it every 2 weeks, whereas Di2 did every 6 months.

My mate just ordered an AXS Force Road groupset yesterday.  He has original Red etap he put on his TT bike a year or two ago himself.  Never had issues with it, and he's normally the guy who will take his bike to the bike shop for a service.  He did struggle with running all the internal brake cables though.

3 hours ago, rory-dognz said: