sharmanat0r

Kurnell Sprint 24Nov - beginner friendly

Hey all :)

First time poster, first Sprint at Kurnell on the 24th!

I signed up for this Sprint 12 weeks ago and have started swimming, cycling, running.  Im from the UK so didnt really do much swimming and now I can just about finish 750m in the pool with a break at each 50m 😕  started swimming at Balmoral between the cones, and can safely get around 600, floating on my back just to catch my breath.

6 days out im starting to get a little nervous and just wanted to ask:

- can I mention to the safety staff that its my first time in a race environment just in case something happens?

- is the event beginner friendly, aka, ive watched enough videos to see how people transition but Im probably going to be taking it super easy just to get familar with it all, and wont be going too hard

- wetsuits will be allowed If the water is under 22? will most people be wearing a wetsuit?

- is there a watching area for friends?

- do they provide swim caps or should I bring my own, I read somewhere that events give you ones?

- there is 1 hour for Registrations, should I definately be there for the start of that, or is it worth turning up half way?

- any ideas or tips about parking?  I bought a parking tcket with my entry and it just says in the National Park so I guess im just not sure if its gonna be hectic or close to the event

Thanks very much :)

• Like 2

13 minutes ago, sharmanat0r said:

I signed up for this Sprint 12 weeks ago and have started swimming, cycling, running.  Im from the UK so didnt really do much swimming and now I can just about finish 750m in the pool with a break at each 50m 😕  started swimming at Balmoral between the cones, and can safely get around 600, floating on my back just to catch my breath.

6 days out im starting to get a little nervous and just wanted to ask: