nealo

100km/50km training, how long? How far?

So I'm thinking of doing a 100km Ultra, will definitely be doing a 50km.

Pretty sure I'm right to get through training for a 50 but the 100, I have my doubts.

How long (time) or how far (distance) are suggested for the long runs? 

Or is it about doing more? As in still doing the long run but the other runs during the week still have to be of considerable distance?

Do zero training and just do 100km.

It will hurt like hell.

You won't win.

You'll be sore for a week after.

But just think of all the time you'll save doing no training.  All those free weekend.

The only thing you need is to be mentally tough. Which you already know you are.

Edited by Peter
  • Haha 3

I've been enjoying those free weekends since May 2015, maybe enjoying them a little too much.

Time to focus some energy towards something.

A lot will depend on terrain. For the 50km, you can just do that on regular IM type running volume, maybe ramp it up a bit.

My first ultra was 88km with 1900mtrs of vert. The race was in mid June but I'd had a half decent road season from Xmas to March, averaging approx 50km per week but increasing toward the latter part.  

Between March and June I averaged closer to 70km. My longest run in distance was 42kms, my longest in time was a very gnarly 37kms which took me 5hrs and my biggest week was 102km.

If you want some perspective, I ran a trail marathon in early May with 900mtr vert in 4.11.  My 88km ultra with 1900mtrs vert got done in 13.49!

The massive difference was walking speed. Although I had a hip injury, the speed at which people can walk the hills is crucial. I thought I was fast but I was strolling really.

So whilst running is important, IMO, nothing beats a combo of: time on feet, total vert and learning to walk hills quickly.

When you are running, don't neglect speed sessions, they won't be as fast as before because of the increased volume but you need to keep going to the well.