Sign in to follow this  
dazmuzza

Another ex pro cyclist giving triathlon a shot

Unsure if its a serious change or just giving it a one off shot, but Pete Kennaugh (ex Bora/Sky) looks to be doing a triathlon v. soon (possibly tomorrow). I note in his insta stories, he posted some of his lap times in the swim and he's hitting 1:30s/100 metres in the pool 😐

I guess the standard of cycling in triathlon is at such a point that unless a pro cyclist can swim and run he has little chance of success? Wurf was a decent swimmer in his time and ran. 

• Like 1

12 hours ago, zed said:

I guess the standard of cycling in triathlon is at such a point that unless a pro cyclist can swim and run he has little chance of success? Wurf was a decent swimmer in his time and ran. 

Unless he's racing age group, then there is a big difference.

He did a 1:03 in a sprint tri. Pretty quick for an absolute beginner I'd say. 😕

Edited by dazmuzza

Fastest bike & 2nd place overall, but not much depth in the field. Times drop away quickly.

image.thumb.png.404f5f857211668a2e72f460f573cd3c.png

I was thinking about this. Cam Wurf has come in and smashed all the bike records in ironman. He's good no doubt, but he wasn't anything spectacular when he was a pro cyclist.

I'm just wondering if someone like Rohan Dennis jumped into Ironman - would he be in a good position to smash the bike course records that Wurf has just done...

5 minutes ago, dazmuzza said:

I was thinking about this. Cam Wurf has come in and smashed all the bike records in ironman. He's good no doubt, but he wasn't anything spectacular when he was a pro cyclist.

I'm just wondering if someone like Rohan Dennis jumped into Ironman - would he be in a good position to smash the bike course records that Wurf has just done...