FatPom

HM pacing advice

I have a HM coming up in two weeks (Reading HM), fairly flat with two hills apparently, I've never done it before.

There are about 9-10,000 runners.  I'm in the sub 1.45 pen. (I don't remember selecting that, haha). Realistically, I think anything over 1.45 would be a little over what I could expect and sub 1.40 would be an absolute dream. Caveat being it's a long race, anything can happen etc but I feel like based on recent form, it's within reason.

There are pacers for every 5min gap.  Question is:

Would you run with the 1.40 pacer and try hang on, knowing that you have some drop back safety net, or with the 1.45  pacer and know that you should be finishing ahead?

That's a big number marathon. I've only run with a pacer once and I regretted it as the pack was too tight (we were tapping feet and having to breathe others farts and it was hard to get water at aid stations) , made it less enjoyable so that's something to consider. 

It's your first. So I'd just set out at just about 1:40 pace and see if you can hold it, and just slow down a little (as is often the case in long distance running) if you can't. Leave the negative splits for pros.

Good luck!

9 minutes ago, dazaau said:

That's a big number marathon. I've only run with a pacer once and I regretted it as the pack was too tight (we were tapping feet and having to breathe others farts and it was hard to get water at aid stations) , made it less enjoyable so that's something to consider. 

It's your first. So I'd just set out at just about 1:40 pace and see if you can hold it, and just slow down a little (as is often the case in long distance running) if you can't. Leave the negative splits for pros.

Good luck!

Cheers mate, I've only used a pacer once before at a full marathon (part of LCW). He was a fan of 'banking' because of the hills in the second half. I'm hoping the pacers at this race will be even splitting it.