more

Advice for first 70.3

So I have my first 70.3 in a few weeks in Geelong. As a complete newb Id appreciate any advice anyone has to share. From what I gather in the other thread I should draft and pee on the bike..... what else?

Nutrition-any good websites or ballpark recommendations?

Gear-my heart rate monitor isn't water proof. Do you bother putting it on after the swim, not sure I can be arsed?

Socks on the bike-just personal preference?

Weird things I wouldn't have experienced (besides guys peeing on the bike)

Any other hints or tips for a guy who has only done a few sprints? 

Nutrition is a minefield and its very personal, people use gels, I prefer to make my own nutrition at home, ive seen people have peanut butter sandwiches and in Cairns last year i saw someone eating a cheeseburger at the special needs (Full IM)

I've always worn my HRM but in busso the other week it didn't work and to be honest i dont check it so i wont be wearing it moving forward in races.  but if you are racing to a HR then yes id put it on after swim.

I've worn socks and not worn socks for both half and full distances, i prefer not to wear them - but its very much up to you

But all the things i do during a race i have trialed during training to find out what i do and do not like and what works and doesn't..

The best advice i can offer is practice it in training and not on race day.

Good luck

• Like 2

24 minutes ago, more said:

Gear-my heart rate monitor isn't water proof. Do you bother putting it on after the swim, not sure I can be arsed?

What are your hopes for the race? If you want to push yourself, and you know what you're doing wrt HR and effort, then put it on. If you don't know what HR you should be maintaining to get the best result, or you are out there for the experience or to have fun, then why bother.

25 minutes ago, more said:

Any other hints or tips for a guy who has only done a few sprints?