Katz

Job Seeking Advice

So, a bit of background about me. I am a qualified lawyer, with a masters in construction law, admitted to the SC of NSW but no longer holding a practicing certificate and have not practiced in WA. I worked primarily in construction law in while practice, went into contract administration management and then into commercial management in the resources industry. I've also operated as a consultant to the building and construction industry mostly doing claims, responses and education under and around the Security of Payment Act in NSW.

In 2015, I got rather disillusioned and decided to study physiotherapy. In 2017 I decided to stop studying physio as although I LOVED the study, the practice was rather dull and I couldn't see it fulfilling me long term. While I was studying physio, I couldn't work a M-F job and study full time, so I starting working in a hospital as effectively an orderly. It's been a lot of fun, the hours were great while I was single and it has been an all care and no responsibility role. It definitely allowed me to get through the dark days of 2015-2017 without losing my mind completely.

Now though, it's not working for me anymore. I am in no way challenged mentally, the shiftwork is killing me and it's dreadful trying to have a relationship with someone who works M-F when you only have 3 weekends off in every 3 month cycle. 

I now want to go back to what I was doing before. I am struggling to get around what I generously call my 3 year sabbatical. Recruiters and HR departments all ask for your last/current role title and if it doesn't fit the algorithm you don't get a look in. If you lie, or fudge the truth though, you won't get far at all.

Dear Trannies, how do you all think I should approach this little problem?

My take-there are two parts. First is if you didn't like it back then why are you going to like it now? Is it like a lot of things where its human nature to forget the bad and only remember the good?