Pete

Power Meter Recommendations

Sorry - I know this topic come up all the time but I need to help someone out who is helping someone out...

Anyway I need a recommendation for a power meter - not for me.

Good price

Good function

Must be able to source before Xmas :)

New Stages seem to be the simplest and most popular, but is a one sided solution OK?

What about the new pedal meters? - Assiomas seem popular but can I get them in Aus at short notice - I must admit I just can't get over the fact that pedals are subject to so much hits and scrapes, mud, dirt and water that something as delicate as a power meter really belongs there, but I have zero experience and happy to be proved wrong.  

I don't know the crank, set crank length or wheels so it seems that pedals would be more universal if I can't get all the info?

Once again, apologies. I know all the information is buried away across multiple topics but I really wanted more "I have X, and they are great!" and I have Y and it is sh1t" type anecdotes and a bit of buying guide info.  Thanks, P.

Had Stages gen 1 on my roadie which lasted for 5 years until too much riding in rain eventually broke it. The Quarq on my Tri Bike is still going strong after 7 years. Recently (Jan 2018) purchased Stages gen 2 (for the roadie) that supposedly fixed the water problem and so far have had no problems.

I know from doing Watt Bike sessions that my left leg is slightly dominant (ranging from 52/48 to 51/49). But I don't really notice the slightly increased readings (Stages is only on the left crank which is my dominant leg).

I've only really had one crash (in an extremely wet race) and the only component that was damaged was my right pedal. Also, they seemed to have a lot of teething problems when the first power meter pedals came out, not sure how well they work compared to the crank versions.

Would recommend checking out DC Rainmaker's blog and/or Shane Miller (GPLama) Youtube videos for far more knowledgable reviews