IronmanFoz

How long have you been doing tri's for?

Based on the 13 hour thread which Steve posted the follows and Paul beautifully respond (see below):

On ‎17‎/‎10‎/‎2018 at 12:38 PM, steve said:

As of today, I've been training for IMs for 20 years. 

Pfft! F*ckin' newbies! <_<

• Like 1
  • Haha 2

Me : 30 years this year!!! (As at Nepean this year)

Edited by IronmanFoz
  • Like 2

1994 pier one. 

37 half Ironman’s 

10 Ironman’s 

nfi others.  Over 100

Did my first in 88 so started 30 years ago but had over a decade out plus the last couple years.

i was 12 years old and raced at Coffs Harbour now I’m not sure if Mr Every will remember or not but he rode his bike up to Coffs to race   And the weather was shit so instead of riding back to Sydney we gave him a lift ! 

At the time I thought he was a legend for doing that now I think you were a lunatic 😉😂😂

Here is a pic 

D0508957-0152-4854-A62F-2A5BFFD61316.jpeg

• Like 3
  • Haha 2

Been training for IMs for 20 years, but my first tri was 23 years ago – that's how long I've actually been in the sport. Started training, on and off, and following the sport in 1982. I put work and school and laziness ahead of getting myself sorted to actually race, and to train more than 4 or 5 months out of 12. In 1995, sat next to Sally Edwards on a plane, had a nice conversation and she gave me her copy of Triathlete. I thought she looked familiar but didn't realise it was her until I got to my hotel and read the name on the label. Did my first race three months later.

Edited by steve

SInce 1985, never done an Ironman snd looks like I never will!

97F96F13-AA33-449C-808B-72E73CAE45A7.jpeg

Edited by batman
  • Like 4

First one in '84. Raced for 6 years, then took 19 years off, then came back for about 3 years but didn't do many races due to fitness & injury, then retired hurt. 3 x IM in the first stint. 1 x HIM in the 2nd.

I WILL DO ANOTHER TRIATHLON.

It won't be a long one, and it won't be raced.