KieranR

Online Assesment - Job

So i applied for a position up here in Karratha / Dampier the other day, its for nothing ive done before, but I have now received an email from the company saying i need to do an online assessment after progressing to the next stage.  I've never done one before so I have no idea what it will cover.  I've got 5 days to do it.  do we have any HR type people here that could maybe explain what this is / what it covers

The role is not for planning like i have previously discussed, but i applied for this after i have been blocked from my manager since coming back from training in the planner role from transferring (still up here in the pilbara, still on the same site actually), so I have applied with another company.

I only presume i have progressed because I am already a local and its a local position so may have that as a head start from the out of towners that may apply.

Thanks

I’ve worked at BHP previously and have had to do an online 100 question aptitude assessment...  it’s probably the same sort of thing.  Was general questions to assess decision making skills and ethics etc. 

The online part is usually fine  ( be wary of multiple questions that ask the same thing a few pages later, they look for consistency). You may find this is followed by a face to face pysch test.

1 hour ago, KieranR said:

do we have any HR type people here that could maybe explain what this is / what it covers

Just HR types trying to justify their roles without adding any actual value......

• Like 1
  • Haha 3

2 hours ago, KieranR said:

Thats where ill bomb out

You'll be fine mate.  i had a 4hr one once, for a role in Nth Sydney.  I bought a book that had some test scenarios in it. this book was really useful, not because it gave me the answers but because it helped get my head in the right space.

Anyway, you may not have to do that at all. One step at a time mate :)