MissJess

The Great Transitions Beer Mile! (Port Mac)

3pm Monday 7th May at the Town Green!!

Don't forget to be costumed, have some fun with this, there is a Fashions in the Field award.

Entry list is here!! https://docs.google.com/document/d/19RPG9J59YFt9Ly9SVicdK3kyuRFbgClEjQGQmYpE9OY/edit?usp=sharing I'll update it as I get people, but you should also be able to pop your name in if I have it working right.

Well, folks it's on again, and I am in the process of taking over this great event from Coffs Pete! I'm new to this please be nice! For those uninitiated the Beer Mile has the following format. Beer, Run 400m x 4.

It will be held at the end of rolldown on the day after the Port Mac Ironman, qualification process is simple. Finish the Ironman the day before and you can get a start. We have a super secret squirrel sponsor who will supply beer for Trannies. The team have trophies, but more are always welcome!

So, register your interest in this thread.

Since training and ensuring you have a great race is important. Here are some hot tips from the pros!  

• Open a warm down beer as soon as you cross the line - Always ensure you do a proper warm down as part of every race.
  • Leave a little bit in reserve over the first 3 laps - It is important to come into the transition area feeling good so you can drink your next beer without taking a breath.
  • Make sure your beer is optimum temperature - It is almost impossible to drink a beer in 5 seconds out of an icy cold bottle. Somewhere in the middle between that and warm is good!
  • Train in the lead up to the race - drinking fast with short recovery is a good idea. I recommend 3 or 4 beers as fast as possible with less than 30 seconds rest.