Pete

complete newb - needs advice

So I rode a couple of easy tracks at Bright with the kids on a borrowed 29er hard tail.  the kids loved it so I want to get into some riding with them locally at the YouYangs.  So, if I am not into it in a big way and need to watch my dollars what is a "minimum spec" bike to get me around the tracks. I will never compete or be competitive, just want to spend time with Mr 11YO and Mr 13YO who both have Trek hard tails but am completely clueless when it comes to MTBs!

I ended up spending ~$620 for a 2017 model Talon 2 +  pedal upgrade, spares etc took me to $750.

I looked for  long time at the ~$500 bikes, but couldn't find anything positive about them for actual off road use.

New model will set you back $900 though.

I think anything that drops the 3 x front ring is a step in the right direction.

But, it's like any other bike purchase.

Day 2 is all about thinking upgrades :)

Yeh, something like a Talon would do the job. Not sure what fork they have but i sssume it has some rebound adjust. It will never be like a higher end fork so Just dial it down a bit so it’s not like a pogo stick. The tyres will most likely be crap so upgrade them to something better. With decent tyred at lowish pressures combined with good technique, you can do a lot on a low end HT!

Spec shimano slx = 105

Suspension 120-130mm travel is the sweet spot for a do everything bike.

If going 1x on the front then need at least 11 on the back. Preferably 30 on the front otherwise the gears will be to big to climb short sharp slopes

Hydraulic disc are a must (cable disc are a waste of time). 

Don't be afraid of second hand. This may allow you to get a dual suspension bike for the same price. 

Alloy is the way to go for mtb frames.