Sign in to follow this  
truck

Ch 7 Brisbane news - cyclists targeted for speeding

truck    240

Saw this fine piece of journalism on Ch7 Brisbane news last night.  Apparently 160!!! cyclists were issued infringement notices last year for speeding and going through red lights so it's a major drama. (Although QLD wide, they didn't compare it to the 55,000 fines issued to car drivers for not having a valid rego in the same period).  One of the solutions is to have compulsory speedometers on bikes - that way at least I won't see the potholes until it's too late as I'm studying my speedometer.  Don't get me wrong, we all see cyclists doing the wrong thing but they are in a massive minority and reporting it like this just gives the rednecks more fuel for their fire.

https://au.news.yahoo.com/qld/video/watch/36342236/crackdown-on-speeding-cyclists/#page1

AA7    1,001

Absolutely ridiculous. I sent them a message.

goughy    2,146

Yeah, if call it a slow news day. And it keeps the sensationalism of the story going for them. Wonder if they have the numbers for the amount of motorists doing the same thing over the same period?

I have no problem with the cyclists getting busted. Just with them making it seem the problem is worse than it is to fuel a fire. 

• Like 2

beaten    33
On ‎12‎/‎07‎/‎2017 at 2:45 PM, Rude Beef said:

40km/h over the speed limit! I'd be framing that infringement notice, straight to the poolroom!

Was thinking the same thing, total bullshit. Most cyclists would be lucky to be sitting on 40kmh unless on a descent, more or less that amount over the speed limit.

AP    1,596

I have no problem with the cyclists getting busted. Just with them making it seem the problem is worse than it is to fuel a fire.