Diamonds

The 10,000 step farce

Is the whole thing a gee up?

As a backstory, I got a (Rebel member) half price Garmin 630 a few months ago.  The perfect balance between "Fu6k look at me I'm an athlete" and a normal watch.

Battery life is good and it does GPS when I want.  Anyways, it does the step count thing.

So how to people not do 10,000?  So far today I have walked into the pool and out (swam sans watch), done a few office laps, walked to and from Woolies a few blocks to stock work drawer.  I parked about 500m from work initially and since been to retrieve car.  Essentially done SFA and sitting on 8858.  Feeling lazy coz I'd normally go for a lunch trot but watched TV instead.

It can't be that hard.  If I do a bit (and I am a 7-8hr a week trainer these days) I usually do 25000-28000.  

Anyone else tracking steps? I am not, but it just intrigues me now.

Edited by Diamonds

I've been fairly sedentary the last 3 months with the no exercise orders from the quacks, still wear a vivofit and have noticed I've been doing only around 5 - 6 thousand a day, a few days as low as 3,000.  I have been driving to work, park around 50 metres from my desk and the most walking I do during the day was going to the toilet down the other end of the building (I have filing 3 metres from my desk and a personal printer 2 metres so office is not designed to move much at all).  I think the most I got in that time was 8,000 odd steps

When training though, 15,000 on light training was my average, usually nudged it over the 20,000 mark when right into it.  Had a few days where 60,000 and 80,000 even popped up, but they were heavy run days, going to be a few months before I see those figures again

• Like 1

Im at 4761 for the day. And i aint doing much more tonite!

18 holes of golf was coming in at 7k or so, but I reckoned it wasn't counting when my arm was anchored on the buggy handle.  A few weeks of carrying my clubs instead showed it to be 14.5k carpark to carpark.