dazmuzza

Ideal 70.3 training preparation and training strategy: advice sought

Hi Trannies. I’m a relative newbie on the forum and have been following a number of discussions with interest.

I tried to find an existing thread which answered my queries, but couldn’t exactly get what I’m after. Apologies if there is one and it slipped by my searching!

Scenario

So I’m hoping for some more experienced advice for an upcoming race.

I’m planning ahead for my third 70.3 at the Sunny Coast in 2017 and trying to figure out a plan of attack. In this event my A goal is sub 5 hours and B goal is as close to 5 as possible.

I’ve raced at this event previously in a time of 5:17 (~38 min swim, ~2:35 bike, ~1:58 run + transitions etc). For this I trained 6 days a week on a beginner program, cut all alcohol and dropped 10kg. Sessions were roughly: Ride 4 times per week, swim twice a week and run 2-3 times a week. I did this for about 6 months.

I’d imagine I’d do something similar again, however this is complicated by the fact that I have eardrum surgery mid-April which will mean probably no swimming for up to two months.

Current regime

Not exactly fit, but just did Tweed Coast Enduro (in a terrible time, but completed nonetheless). Annoyingly overweight due to fondness for beer but will remove from diet starting April.

• Already ride two-three times a week with one windtrainer coached session – around 150-200k weekly.
  • Swim – once a week (will increase to twice a week and training with a squad).
  • Run – run about 15-20km a week but unfocused – mostly tempo speed running.

Realise I will have to change my schedule drastically to get ready for Sunny Coast.

Questions

My questions are (given the above scenario and regime)

1. What is generally considered the ideal training program in terms of duration leading up to a 70.3? (eg. 8 weeks, 12 weeks)