Sign in to follow this  
japay1

Training rut

Hi guys,

So this year I've gotten into a bit of a training rut, and my training has been steadily declining, until I imagine I might get to a point where I don't train.

I'm a medical student, and this year particularly I'm finding it incredibly difficult to fit into training.

Any advice from someone with a very hectic schedule?

I've always had the motivation, but now I'm prioritizing everything else ahead....

Write up a plan with available slots for training and other priorities and do your best to stick to it. It must be flexible enough that if a higher priority comes in the session can be moved. Highlight the key sessions that cannot be missed and swap them out where needed for the non key sessions.

You will usually find that with increased fitness comes greater motivation.

Good luck with your studies.

Cheers

NSF

If training is becoming a chore, mix it up, if you swim/bike solo join a squad, or switch from pool to the ocean. Change where and how you run, instead of pounding the pavement, do some trail running, do some interval work on the track and as chookman said, MTB - a lot of fun + a good workout. But don't plod along thinking you'll miraculous get out of the rut you're in, it won't happen.

Dont beat yourself up about not training. Study hard and fit in training when you can. I find the most enjoyable training is done on the spur of the moment when time becomes available

We want the best doctors looking after our broken bones, sore bodies and when we are unwell!

• Like 3

Reckon adjust expectations and just do care and maintenance training in semester when study is at a peak, e.g. 2-3 runs a week - and enjoy them - accepting that's all you really have time for given priorities, and then increase it over summer. Some super men and women manage to do it all, but not most.