Diamonds

So I paid for a lesson

While in Bright, paid for an hour lesson (got 80mins in fact) for the young bloke and I. Totally worth it.

Most of my skills are self taught and I thought I was okay but learnt a ton this morning.

Will give a bit of detail later. Off to ride.

• Like 1

I did the same thing a few weeks ago Diamonds. We (MR CC + me) had 2 hours and it was really, really good. He even did things like showing me the appropriate etiquette when out on a trail. I am a true beginner and it has been the best money I have spent so far! :)

So, bearing in mind my 10.5 year old was the main beneficiary of the lesson, we covered (in order);

* Ready (or attack) position

* Braking and weight shift

* Dropping in or off objects

* Climbing position with focus on wrist position, weight and posture

* Wheelie technique and a practice drill to be competent to start dropping off larger ledges or objects

The attack position with a focus on trying to have zero weight on the arms was a massive difference, allowing the bike to move wherever it needed to underneath you.

The braking technique of slowly shifting off the rear of the saddle as you squeezed was another useful pickup.

Lastly, the biggest pickup was moving my chest forward and down almost onto the stem before a drop off (instead of shifting weight behind saddle in anticipation) was a game changer. Instead of the bike dragging me down over the drop and sometimes over the bars, my arms have massive travel to let the bike fall under me and I just drop straight onto it. 1000% improvement.

Edited by Diamonds
  • Like 1

Sounds awesome, looking for something similar to this for my young bloke.

He is super keen so want to keep encouraging him.

Might start another thread to get some advice from you mate.

Sounds awesome, looking for something similar to this for my young bloke.Â

Â

He is super keen so want to keep encouraging him.Â

Â

Might start another thread to get some advice from you mate.Â