tortoise

Photography

Are there many that still make a real living out of photography? I know 3 people on my floor at work and another 2 friends that do the occasional wedding etc. None are really "in the industry". My niece is studying photography and marine biology at Uni. I suppose she'll be able to take good underwater photos.

Are there many that still make a real living out of photography? I know 3 people on my floor at work and another 2 friends that do the occasional wedding etc. None are really "in the industry". My niece is studying photography and marine biology at Uni. I suppose she'll be able to take good underwater photos.

My BIL is a commercial photographer and goes OK. The bottom fell out of wedding/portrait years ago when digital and phones became popular but I'm sure there's still people making decent money.

I was a pretty handy underwater photographer in my time - the equivalent of a Kona winner in triathlon - still have the trophy on the wall at home :)

• Like 1

Am copying this post over to a new thread to allow discussion on the photographic aspects of the post that aren't related to mental health. Feel free to continue to discuss the merits of this career, ISOs, rules and Nikon v Canon who simply ask questions about anything, sounds like we have some experience on the forum

Ok, I'm just after a vent and this is as good a place as any where it won't be seen! But my is BIL driving us crazy!