Rog

Cervelo P3 slipping seatpost

Anyone had this issue before? I'm trying to avoid over tightening the bolts but it is kind of annoying me now.

I've tried carbon paste to no avail, what else can I do? Is it because of all the power I'm putting down on the pedals ?

Well, I'm no expert, but I have been doing mechanical stuff all my life. I don't have a torque wrench, so I just used my wrist gauge to tighten the bolts, and am not having any slippage issues. Getting both sides evenly tensioned, with no angle on the dangle is very important.

Or maybe it's all teh powah !!

Sounds like its time for a new bike rog.

:lol:

this is his new bike :S

Edited by hiltz

I don't have a torque wrench, so I just used my wrist gauge to tighten the bolts, and am not having any slippage issues.

Me too, mine does not slip. Then again I weigh nothing and would be lucky to produce 200W of power.

When my Soloist started slipping, I grabbed a bit of sandpaper and roughed up the carbon on the section which was inside the seat-tube (use masking tape on the bit above which is visible else it will get all roughed up and look crappy). I also used the TACX cabon paste on it.

Thanks for the tips, I'll try sanding it first and if it doesn't work I might give the coke shim a go.

coke shim first.

It definitely works. Just needs to be around the sharp bit of the seatpost though.....

Thanks for the tips, I'll try sanding it first and if it doesn't work I might give the coke shim a go.

I'd try just nipping the bolts up a bit tighter first - nothing too drastic, maybe just a little more than your usual tension with the torque wrench

I'd try just nipping the bolts up a bit tighter first - nothing too drastic, maybe just a little more than your usual tension with the torque wrench