Sign in to follow this  
REBEL08

Split runs. Is there a time and a place for them

Ok, whats your view on split runs, i.e. rather than doing 25k straight, is there value in doing 10k at lunch time, 15-20k after work.

are they a complete waste of time.

obviously you dont get the fatigue factor like you do in a long run 30k, but do they have a place in a training plan?

I did my first ever split run on Tuesday as my coach is trying to get extra volume into my legs in readiness for a relatively fast-tracked first HIM. I have done very few double sessions in anything since I started training again after injury, whereas last season I used to do lots of swim/run and run/windtrainer days.

1hr:15 am, 20 min PM was the start point. I found it mentally and physically OK to head out for the second session after work (apart from the need to wash 2 sets of gear and the dark and rain). What was really interesting that, for what was a very short run indeed, the pace was slower than in the AM. But it was a first and I tend to start new ventures conservatively until the impacts are understood.

I do heaps of split runs.

Can be any of the below:

Morning run to work afternoon run home.

Morning run to work lunch time run.

Morning run to work lunch time run afternoon run home.

Morning run to work evening Athletics Track session.

I find it eaiser to get more kms in and less taxing on the body.

The only thing to remember is you still need to have some long runs as well as split run days.

When I was doing Ironman training I still did heaps of split days both for bike and run mostly because my training is targettted around commuting.

So midweek bike would bo some thing like am 90km ride to work 25km ride home afternoon.

And runs Morning run to work afternoon run home.

Swim at lunch time.

Worked OK for me.

Do double runs when you're aiming to increase overall volume, not to split your current volume into smalle chunks (unless you're not coping with your current volume).