Sign in to follow this  
Peter

Why is motorpacing so good?

I know so many pro's that do it but what is the actual reason for it?

If it's for speed then why don't we do more swimming with flippers?

I am no expert, but I started with a group who motorpace once a week and I must say that the biggest benefit I got was I learnt what hurt really is. Prior to this when I started to what I thought was hurting, I would back off the intensity, but after doing motorpacing my lactate threshold is now far greater (no where near Rentakill though cause he is HARD, you ask him) therefore I can push harder for longer.

Please note I have no idea of the science behind motorpacing, this is just what I have found.

Before anyone says anything, yes I did ask the coach who was riding the scooter what the benefits are, and he explained, I just cant remember.

Enjoyed the sessions though. Appeared to be safe as long as the road is suitable for this activity.

I suppose from a safety aspect it would be like training with a really fast bunch without the bunch.

Macca (just before he nearly killed himself motorpacing) was doing a set at Kurnell where he said he does one lap warmup, one lap at 50k, one lap at 60k, then one lap at 70k and see how long you can hang on for.

I think it is for learning to tolerate long fast hard efforts.

both macca and terenzo did a lot a or motor pacing up in Kona. They got pulled over by the police during one session.

I was in teh car when terenzo did some motor pacing pre taupo, and I cldnt believe the pace he was handling for 80odd km. Fortunatley i didnt have to concentrate with the driving

I think the attitude is that it is a hard session anda big boost psyhcologically if they can pull it off

I think it is for learning to tolerate long fast hard efforts.

That's what we've used it for "generally hardening up triathletes".

Another benefit I've found is, it seems to smooth out your pedalling action (holding a fast pace for a long time)