Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
Suburban Kid

Port Mac 70.3 2017

11 posts in this topic

There are two reasons why I was competing in this 70.3. The first being that I had originally signed up for Western Sydney 70.3 in 2016 but was unable to compete, so transferred my entry, and secondly it was perfect timing for a trial run for Hawaii 70.3 (June 4 17) which was my main goal for 2017.

I've come to the conclusion that I'm a notoriously lazy trainer, however I was coming off a 6 week base training, and was in week 12 of a 16 week 70.3 Training program which would have my peaking for Hawaii 70.3. I had cut out alcohol since the start of 2017, however had compensated that with a daily red bull (which have since been cut out, as to drop a few kgs before Hawaii) I had only done a few bricks (Yes, I am doing a short run of most of my bike training sessions, to get the feel in the legs)

My swim and bike training had been going well, with my longest run being 14k (I had been nursing a heel injury that flares up after every run), and after a PB at Forster of 5.11, I was excited to test myself and see if I had made any progress)

We drove up on the Saturday morning and went straight into Athlete Check-in at the Glasshouse, all went smooth, then headed back to T's Tennis Resort to drop our bags off and then ride my bike down to transition. Bike drop off was fine, and we chilled down near the finishers chute for a few hours on the grass, followed by dinner, then bed.